ITIL Intermediate Operational Support and Analysis

ITIL Intermediate Operational Support and Analysis (OSA) Training and Certification

Course Introduction:

The ITIL V3 Operational Support and Analysis course is a part of the ITIL Intermediate Capability stream. It is one of the modules that lead to ITIL V3 Expert. The ITIL- OSA training and certification course has been designed to provide participants with all the knowledge required for the exam and gaining the skills needed to manage the day to day operation of IT services by implementing the ITIL processes. This Intermediate course is aimed at providing practitioners with the practical aspects of the processes and operational level activities and supporting methods to execute these processes in a practical scenario.

Course Duration:
3 days

What will you learn from ITIL-OSA training module?

The ITIL Operational Support and Analysis training and certification course is oriented towards providing candidates with all the key concepts and processes within the OSA module. We adopt the teaching methodology that gives participants ample time for group discussions, case studies and ensure that they are fully prepared for the certification exam as well as the real life challenges in the organization. The primary learning outcomes include the following:

  • Understand service management as a practice
  • How OSA activities support the service lifecycle 
  • Optimizing service operation performance 
  • How the processes in OSA interact with other service lifecycle processes 
  • How to use the OSA processes, activities and functions to achieve operational excellence 
  • How to measure OSA 
  • The importance of IT security and its contributions to OSA 
  • Understanding the technology and implementation considerations surrounding OSA 
  • The challenges, critical success factors (CSFs) and risks associated with OSA
  • Specific emphasis on the service operation lifecycle processes and roles
  • Operational activities of processes covered in other lifecycle stages


ITIL Foundation is Must

Who should opt for Operational Support and Analysis certification?

This course is appropriate for anyone working in IT service management domain as well as anyone interested in taking up an operations role. The list of primary target roles includes the following:

  • IT Professionals
  • Service Owners
  • Business Process Owners
  • Incident Managers
  • Event Managers 
  • Problem Managers
  • IT Operations Managers

Exam details for ITIL Intermediate OSA certification:

  • Multiple choice examination questions
  • Scenario based exam
  • Eight questions per paper
  • 28 marks required to pass (out of 40 available) – 70%
  • 90 minutes’ duration
  • Closed book

Content covered:

  • Introduction to operational support and analysis
  • Event management
  • Incident management
  • Request fulfillment
  • Problem management
  • Access management
  • The service desk
  • Functions and Roles
  • Technology and implementation considerations