ITIL Intermediate Continual Service Improvement

ITIL Intermediate Continual Service Improvement (CSI) Training and Certification

Course Introduction:

The ITIL V3 Continual Service Improvement course is a part of the ITIL Intermediate Lifecycle stream. It is one of the modules that leads to ITIL V3 Expert. The ITIL CSI training is oriented towards an understanding of how to identify and implement improvements in an organization. The CSI training and certification program ensures that participants are well equipped with an understanding of key principles of CSI, the improvement process and the CSI approach. This Continual Service Improvement training course helps participants visualize continual service improvement as an integral part of the organization and understand how to sustain improvements.

Course Duration:
3 days

Learning from ITIL Continual Service Improvement Training course:

The ITIL Continual Service Improvement training and certification course is oriented towards providing candidates with all the key concepts, principles, process of the CSI stage. We adopt the teaching methodology that gives participants ample time for group discussions, case studies and ensure that they are fully prepared for the certification exam as well as the real life challenges in the organization. The primary learning outcomes include the following:

  • Introduction to CSI 
  • An understanding of CSI principles including PDCA cycle, metrics and measurement, integration of CSI with other stages of the lifecycle, CSI register.
  • Detailed understanding of the Seven step improvement process
  • Understand CSI methods and techniques like assessments, benchmarking, gap analysis
  • Identify the roles required for CSI in an organization
  • Understand the role of technology and the challenges as well as success factors required for implementing CSI in an organization


  • ITIL Foundation is Must

Who should opt for ITIL CSI certification?

This course is appropriate for anyone working in IT service management domain, improvement managers. This course basically suits the needs of any role since improvements can be identified anywhere. The key target roles include the following:

  • Chief information officers (CIOs) 
  • Chief technology officers (CTOs) 
  • Service improvement managers
  • IT Managers
  • IT Team leaders 
  • IT architects 
  • IT planners 
  • IT consultants 

Exam details for ITIL Continual Service Improvement Certification:

  • Multiple choice examination questions
  • Scenario based exam
  • Eight questions per paper
  • 28 marks required to pass (out of 40 available) – 70%
  • 90 minutes’ duration
  • Closed book

Content Covered:

  • Introduction to continual service improvement
  • The purpose, objectives and scope of CSI 
  • The value to the business of adopting and implementing CSI 
  • The context of CSI in the ITIL service lifecycle 
  • The approach to CSI, including key interfaces and inputs and outputs


  • Continual service improvement principles
  • How the success of CSI depends on understanding change in the organization and having clear accountability 
  • How service level management and knowledge management influence and support CSI 
  • How the complete Deming Cycle works, and how it can be applied to a real world example 
  • How CSI can make effective use of the various aspects of service measurement 
  • What situations require the use of frameworks and models, and examples of how each type can be used to achieve improvement


  • Continual service improvement process
  • What the seven-step improvement process is, how each step can be applied and the benefits produced 
  • How CSI integrates with the other stages in the ITIL service lifecycle 
  • How other processes play key roles in the seven-step improvement process


  • Continual service improvement methods and techniques
  • When to use assessments, what to assess and how a gap analysis can provide insight into the areas that have room for improvement 
  • How to use benchmarking, service measurement, metrics, service reporting, including balanced scorecard and SWOT, to support CSI 
  • How to create a return on investment, establish a business case and measure the benefits achieved 
  • How techniques within availability management, capacity management, IT service continuity management and problem management can be used by CSI


  • Organizing for continual service improvement
  • The role of the CSI manager, and the roles of service owner, process owner, process manager and process practitioner in the context of CSI and how they can be positioned within an organization 
  • How to design, implement and populate a RACI (responsible, accountable, consulted, informed) diagram as well as how to use it to support CSI


  • Technology considerations
  • The technology and tools required and how these would be implemented and managed to support CSI activities such as performance, project and portfolio management, as well as service measurement and business intelligence reporting


  • Implementing continual service improvement
  • CSI implementation: strategy, planning, governance, communication, project management, operation, as well as how to deal with cultural and organizational change


  • Challenges, critical success factors and risks
  • The challenges and risks such as staffing, funding, management, etc., which can be related to CSI and the details behind how each challenge can be addressed 
  • The critical success factors related to CSI as well as how to measure and monitor them